Diversity of Science- Revised

When I was seven years old, my mother took me flying for the first time in a Cessna 172. I remember sitting on her lap, taking complete control of the airplane, and experiencing the utter amazement of flying. From that point on, I became an obsessively curious second grader, who wanted to know everything about the world around me. I drove my parents and teachers into insanity with questions such as; “How does water turn to steam?”, “Why don’t old people have teeth?” and my favorite “If you could hold lightening in you hand, how much would it weigh?”. As time went on and the list of questions grew, however, I began to notice a trend: every question I asked was tied back to an understanding of science and because of this the realm of science and opportunities within this realm were endless.

Ken Jenkins once said, “I think science has enjoyed an extraordinary success because it has such a limited and narrow realm in which to focus its efforts. Namely, the physical universe”.  Through a hint of sarcasm, Jenkins clearly addresses the fact that the study of science has no boundaries. Science can begin with studying something as small as an atom, to something as large and far away as a star in the sky. Careers in the subject alone compile an endless list that includes: astronauts, geologist, meteorologist, engineers, physics, chemists, mechanics, oceanographer and more. There are countless fields of science that when put together work to create an explanation for the entire universe, in which we live in.

Though flying with my mother did not lead me to become a pilot, this experience sparked a strong passion for me to explore other topics of science. While I soon learned that I despised chemistry and physics, I quickly realized how drawn I was to other classes such as physiology and anatomy. However, whether it’s calculating the speed of a 300,000 kg 777 aircraft with a breaking force of 445,000 N or determining what cells produce fibers that form the framework of lymphatic organs, the answers are ultimately derived from what Jenkins calls the study of the physical universe. There are no limits to the diversity of knowledge that can be obtained when one chooses to pursue an interest in science.

Posted on January 24, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

